8:00 - 17:00

Opening Hour: Mon - Fri

+1 800-937-7209

Call Us For Free Consultation

Virginia Auto Insurance [Rates + Cheap Coverage Guide]

Virginia Statistics SummaryDetails
Road Miles 75,061
Registered Vehicles7,046,065
State Population 8,517,685
Most Popular Vehicle CR-V
Uninsured Drivers9.90%
Rank: 34th
Total Traffic Related Fatalities (2008 to 2017)Speeding: 2,031
DUI: 2,316
Average Premiums Liability: $425.61
Collision: $280.52
Comprehensive: $136.54
Cheapest ProviderUSAA
Compare RatesStart Now →

As one of the original 13 states, Virginia is a state bursting with fascinating historical landmarks. People can visit George Washington’s famous plantation, stroll through the iconic Jamestown museum, or see the start of the Appalachian Trail.

For those who live in Virginia, though, there is the necessary chore of purchasing auto insurance, which is a lot less interesting. Scrolling through dozens of websites and reviews sometimes feels like a waste of time.

But it doesn’t have to be. Imagine having all the necessary information compiled for you, from insurance requirements to company reviews, from road rules to crash stats.

That’s where we come in. Our comprehensive guide covers what to know when buying auto insurance and driving in the state of Virginia. So let’s jump right into it.

Want to start comparison shopping today? Enter your ZIP code above in our FREE online tool!

Table of Contents

Virginia Auto Insurance Coverage and Rates

With multiple coverages and rate options available, it can be tough to know what you should be purchasing. While it can be tempting to skip out on coverages to save money, this could cost you in the long run.

That’s why we are going to cover what you NEED and what you SHOULD have. Virginia requires drivers to have certain coverages and having other coverage options is just common sense.

So keep reading to learn about Virginia’s coverages and rates, so that you can get the most recommended auto insurance coverage.

Virginia Minimum Coverage

Virginia requires more complete coverage than other states, though drivers may opt out of insurance if they wish. Drivers in Virginia must have bodily injury and property damage liability coverage, as well as uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. These coverages are the state minimums for car insurance in Virginia.

View as image

If you choose to not have these coverages, you will have to pay the $500 Uninsured Motor Vehicle (UMV) fee every year. You will still be held liable in accidents, and you drive at your own risk.

The smartest option is to carry Virginia’s minimum insurance amounts. The Insurance Information Institute (iii) lists the minimum required amounts as the following.

  • 25,000 to cover bodily injury costs per person in an accident for which you are at fault
  • 50,000 to cover total bodily injury costs per accident for which you are at fault
  • 20,000 to cover property damages in an accident for which you are at fault

Driver’s must also have uninsured and underinsured coverage, though minimum amounts are not specified. Not having Virginia’s required coverages without paying the UMV fee is illegal and will result in the suspension of your license and registration.

Forms of Financial Responsibility

So how do you prove that you are following Virginia’s auto insurance law? Virginia requires that all drivers have a form of financial responsibility, which is simply proof of auto insurance.

Below are some acceptable forms of financial responsibility in Virginia.

  • Valid Insurance ID Card
  • Proof that you paid the UMV fee

Even though drivers may drive uninsured in Virginia, uninsured drivers still need to prove they are following Virginia’s UMV law. Anytime drivers are pulled over in a traffic stop, register a car, or are in an accident, they must provide proof of financial responsibility.

Virginia also has an electronic verification system to check vehicles’ insurance status.

Premiums as a Percentage of Income

In order to see how much coverage takes out of an average income, we are going to take a look at Virginia’s per capita disposable income and premiums.

Per captita disposible income is simply how much a person has to spend or save after taxes.

The table below shows how much the average Virginian pays each year for auto insurance. Luckily, Virginia’s percentages are below the countrywide average, which is about 2.4 percent.

Virginia Premiums as Percentage of Income 201220132014
Full Coverage $781.38$809.40$836.14
Disposable Income $43,685.00$42,474.00$43,904.00
Insurance as % of Income 1.79%1.91%1.90%
Compare RatesStart Now →

Virginia’s percentages have remained steady throughout the years. Even though the cost of premiums went up, the disposable income also increased. The good news, too, is that Virginia’s percentages are lower than most.
The highest percentage in the U.S. is almost four percent, whereas the lowest percentage is just above one percent. Since Virginia is firmly in between the lowest and highest percentages, it has a fairly decent percentage (though lower is always better).

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates in VA (Liability, Collision, Comprehensive)

Core coverage has some of the most valuable coverages in case of an accident. While Virginia requires liability, other great core coverages are a collision or comprehensive coverage.

  • Collision coverage will help pay for repairs or replacement if your car is damaged because of a collision with another vehicle or object.
  • Comprehensive coverage will help pay for repairs or replacement if your car is damaged by something OTHER than a collision. For example, natural disasters (fire, hail, etc.), theft, vandalism, or hitting an animal.

To see how much these coverages cost, we’ve compiled the average annual rates below.

Coverage TypeAnnual Costs (2015)
Compare RatesStart Now →
View as image

Virginia’s averages are actually below the countrywide averages. The combined countrywide average is $1,009, which means Virginia residents pay $167 less than most people in the U.S.!

Additional Liability

Additional liability coverages are important to have. Two of the biggest additional liability coverages are medical payments (Medpay) and uninsured/underinsured coverages.

With 9.9 percent of drivers uninsured in Virginia (ranking the state as 34th in the U.S. for uninsured drivers), uninsured and underinsured coverage is necessary to protect drivers.

If you are in an accident with uninsured/underinsured drivers and they are at fault, you risk having to pay the accident bills yourself. Most uninsured/underinsured drivers will go bankrupt before being able to pay off the accident costs.

You may remember that Virginia requires uninsured and underinsured coverage unless you opt of insurance coverage, but Medpay is optional. Medpay is still a great coverage to have, as Medpay covers both your medical costs and your passengers’ medical costs from an accident.

Up next, we have the National Association of Insurance Commissioner’s (NAIC) data on these coverages’ loss ratios.

Why should you care about loss ratios? Loss ratios show how well a company is doing financially.

Companies who are paying out too many claims have loss ratios over 100 percent and risk going bankrupt. On the other hand, companies who aren’t paying out enough claims have low loss ratios and risk losing customers.

With this in mind, let’s take a look at the additional coverages’ loss ratios.

Additional Liability Coverage in Virginia - Loss Ratios201320142015
Medical Pay (Med Pay) 76.96%69.13%67.12%
Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage69.58%72.95%74.89%
Compare RatesStart Now →

Unfortunately, Medpay’s loss ratios have dipped over the years and are below the countrywide average of 75 percent. As for the uninsured and underinsured loss ratios, they have risen over the years to match the countrywide average (which is about 74 percent).

The good news is that none of the loss ratios are terribly low or too high, meaning these coverages are functioning well.

Add-Ons, Endorsements, and Riders

Add-ons may seem excessive to you if you are already purchasing Virginia’s required amount. While these extra coverages are optional, they are affordable and allow you to create a tailored protection plan, making them well worth your money.

Below is a list of the most popular add-ons.

  • Guaranteed Auto Protection (GAP)
  • Personal Umbrella Policy (PUP)
  • Rental Reimbursement
  • Emergency Roadside Assistance
  • Mechanical Breakdown Insurance
  • Non-Owner Auto Insurance
  • Modified Auto Insurance Coverage
  • Classic Auto Insurance
  • Low-Mileage Discount

Any of the above coverages would make great add-ons to policies.

Average Auto Insurance Rates by Age & Gender in VA

The most common demographics that impact rates are gender and age, though marital status and other demographics can also influence rates. We partnered with Quadrant to bring you the following information on rate changes influenced by everything from demographics to cities.

CompanyMarried 35-year old female Annual RateMarried 35-year old male Annual RateMarried 60-year old female Annual RateMarried 60-year old male Annual RateSingle 25-year old female Annual RateSingle 25-year old male Annual RateSingle 17-year old female Annual RateSingle 17-year old male Annual Rate
Allstate P&C$2,042.71$1,927.39$2,031.96$2,031.96$2,657.43$2,658.75$6,396.46$7,347.87
Geico General$1,474.02$1,470.60$1,398.20$1,398.20$1,714.05$1,694.63$3,138.15$4,204.21
Nationwide P&C$1,434.40$1,443.10$1,272.72$1,307.89$1,582.01$1,722.41$3,416.59$4,404.98
Progressive Advanced$1,253.97$1,191.17$1,132.78$1,136.43$1,518.75$1,551.92$5,745.36$6,458.02
State Farm Mutual Auto$1,391.16$1,391.16$1,254.98$1,254.98$1,572.89$1,810.26$4,201.32$5,274.60
Compare RatesStart Now →
View as image

Teenage males have the highest rates at Virginia’s insurers, paying thousands more than other age groups. Teenage females also have higher rates, though generally, they pay about a thousand less than teenage males in Virginia.

These higher rates make sense, as teenage drivers are higher-risk due to lack of experience. Because the rates are so high, though, most parents will add their teenagers onto the parents’ policy where the raised rates are much more reasonable. The good news is that while Virginia’s rates are high, the state’s teenage rates are still lower than average because Virginia is one of the best states for cheap teen auto insurance.

Curious what other demographics have increased rates? Check out the complete list of demographics below to see what your rates might be.

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates by Demographic in Virginia
CompaniesMarried 60-year-old femaleMarried 60-year-old maleMarried 35-year-old femaleMarried 35-year-old maleSingle 25-year-old femaleSingle 25-year-old maleSingle 17-year-old femaleSingle 17-year-old male
State Farm$1,254.98$1,254.98$1,391.16$1,391.16$1,572.89$1,810.26$4,201.32$5,274.60
Compare RatesStart Now →

Married 60-year-olds and married 35-year-olds consistently have the lowest rates at most providers. This is no surprise, as Virginia is one of the best states for cheap retiree auto insurance.

Cheapest Rates by ZIP Code

Another factor that impacts rates is where you live. Insurers may charge more in areas with a higher crime rate or areas with more traffic congestion that carry higher risks of a crash.

View as image

We’ve also included Quadrant’s data on the cheapest providers in your ZIP code in the tables below.

Cheapest ZIP Codes in Virginia CityAverage Annual Rate by ZIP Codes
22840MC GAHEYSVILLE$2,036.30
24416BUENA VISTA$2,039.40
22833LACEY SPRING$2,041.03
24471PORT REPUBLIC$2,046.56
22841MOUNT CRAWFORD$2,048.17
22830FULKS RUN$2,048.95
22848PLEASANT VALLEY$2,049.22
24486WEYERS CAVE$2,055.76
Compare RatesStart Now →

Between the most and least expensive ZIP codes, there is only an $853 difference. This may seem like a lot, but other states can have ZIP code increases in the thousands.

Most Expensive ZIP Codes in Virginia CityAverage Annual Rate by ZIP Code
22041FALLS CHURCH$2,857.11
22060FORT BELVOIR$2,794.01
22044FALLS CHURCH$2,777.26
22103WEST MCLEAN$2,771.74
22039FAIRFAX STATION$2,744.30
Compare RatesStart Now →

Cheapest Rates by City

Similar to ZIP codes, cities also show increases and decreases in price. Check the tables below to see rates in your city.

Cheapest Cities in Virginia Average Annual Rate by City
East Lexington$2,018.13
Buena Vista$2,039.40
Lacey Spring$2,041.03
Port Republic$2,046.56
Mount Crawford$2,048.17
Fulks Run$2,048.95
Pleasant Valley$2,049.22
Weyers Cave$2,055.76
Mount Sidney$2,057.62
Stuarts Draft$2,058.53
Compare RatesStart Now →

Annandale and Springfield are the most expensive cities, but like ZIP code rate changes, these cities are only $816 more than the cheapest cities. This means that the insurance rate increases shouldn’t be a huge concern when moving to Virginia.

Most Expensive Cities in Virginia Average Annual Rate by City
Bailey's Crossroads$2,857.10
Kings Park$2,855.78
Mount Vernon$2,806.21
Fort Belvoir$2,794.01
East Highland Park$2,774.68
West Mclean$2,771.74
Cherry Hill$2,740.66
Dale City$2,730.84
Fort Hunt$2,695.93
County Center$2,689.81
Great Falls$2,686.17
Fair Lakes$2,680.83
Compare RatesStart Now →

Best Virginia Auto Insurance Companies

Finding the right auto insurance is hard! With over seven million cars needing insurance in Virginia, auto insurance companies are numerous. How do you know which insurance company is right for you?

Luckily, we’ve done the hard work of sorting through companies for you so that you can find the company with the perfect rates and coverages for your needs!

Up next, we cover everything from companies’ financial ratings to changes in rates.

The Largest Companies’ Financial Ratings

If you recall, loss ratios play a large part in how secure a company is doing financially. That’s why we want to include AM Best’s ratings, which look at loss ratios to determine if a company has solid financial security.

The basic ratings AM Best gives are explained below.

  • A++ and A+ have a superior ability to meet financial obligations
  • A and A- have an excellent ability to meet financial obligations
  • B++ and B+ have a good ability to meet financial obligations

Any company with a rating lower than a B+ should be avoided. Companies with lower AM Best ratings don’t have great financial security, meaning they may not pay out enough claims or face going bankrupt if economic conditions change in the future.

So to see how the 10 largest companies in Virginia are faring, we’ve included the AM Best ratings for each.

View as image

Company AM Best Rating Direct Premiums Written Loss RatioMarket Share
USAA GroupA++$717,32574.59%13.21%
Travelers GroupA++$120,56560.00%2.22%
Allstate Insurance GroupA+$523,32554.37%9.64%
Progressive GroupA+$492,05264.82%9.06%
Nationwide Corp GroupA+$426,05259.34%7.85%
Erie Insurance GroupA+$205,96469.19%3.79%
State Farm GroupA$923,98966.23%17.01%
Liberty Mutual GroupA$154,40555.65%2.84%
Virginia Farm Bureau GroupA-$115,61259.08%2.13%
Compare RatesStart Now →

All of the companies on this list have decent loss ratios, which is why AM Best has given them good ratings.

Companies with Best Ratings

An important part of a company’s success is how well it takes care of its customers. JD Power is one of the leading rankers of customer satisfaction, and its 2018 study looked at 44,622 auto insurance customers’ responses in order to rate major insurance companies in Virginia.

Take a look at the table below to see where Virginia’s companies rank.

J.D. Power 2018 Customer Satisfaction Index Ranking – Mid-Atlantic Region
CompaniesRankingJ.D. Power Circle Rating™
NJM Insurance8645
Erie Insurance8545
The Hartford8393
Mid-Atlantic Region8383
Plymouth Rock Assurance8353
State Farm8262
CSAA Insurance8162
Liberty Mutual8012
Compare RatesStart Now →

Erie insurance received a JD Power rating of “among the best,” while Geico received a “better than most” rating. If you value superb customer service, these two companies might be worth looking into.

Companies with the Most Complaints in Virginia

One part of the companies’ customer satisfaction process is dealing with customer complaints. To see how the largest companies in Virginia are handling complaints, we are going to take a look at NAIC’s complaint ratios.

Company Total Complaints 2017Complaint Ratio 2017
Liberty Mutual Group2225.95
Progressive Group1200.75
Erie Insurance Group220.70
Virginia Farm Bureau Group10.69
Allstate Insurance Group1630.50
State Farm Group1,4820.44
Nationwide Corp Group250.28
Travelers Group20.09
USAA Group20.00
Compare RatesStart Now →

Liberty Mutual and Progressive have the highest complaint ratios out of the top ten largest companies. You might be wondering why State Farm has a lower complaint ratio even though it has the most complaints.

This is because the complaint ratio is based on the overall percentage of customers — a thousand customers complaining about State Farm is only a small percentage of State Farm’s customers.

Cheapest Companies in Virginia

If you are looking to save money, take a look at Quadrant’s information below on the cheapest insurance companies in Virginia.

View as image

CompanyAverage Annual RateCompared to State Average (+/-)Compared to State Average (%)
Allstate P&C$3,386.82$1,028.9530.38%
Progressive Advanced$2,498.55$140.685.63%
State Farm Mutual Auto$2,268.92-$88.94-3.92%
Nationwide P&C$2,073.01-$284.86-13.74%
Geico General$2,061.51-$296.36-14.38%

Compare RatesStart Now →

USAA is the cheapest provider, costing about 27 percent LESS than the state average. Quite a few other providers are also below the state average, showing that it pays to shop around for auto insurance.

Commute Rates by Companies

If you are looking to save money on auto insurance, be aware that sometimes a longer commute can add costs onto your annual premium.

Companies10-mile commute.
6,000 annual mileage.
25-mile commute.
12,000 annual mileage.
State Farm$2,213.23$2,324.61
Compare RatesStart Now →

At Allstate, a longer commute adds on $206 to your premium! Saving on multiple small rate changes like this can add up into a large sum at the end of the year, so make sure to check if you paying more or less because of your commute.

Commute rates don’t have nearly as much of an impact on your rates as some other factors. Take a look.

View as image

Coverage Level Rates by Companies

Most people cringe when paying for a high coverage level, even when they know higher coverage is absolutely worth it in an accident. The good news is that higher coverage doesn’t always need to strain your bank account.

Some Virginian companies offer economical increases when switching from low to high coverage, as you can see from the Quadrant data below.

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates by Coverage Level in Virginia
State Farm$2,135.49$2,265.45$2,405.83
Compare RatesStart Now →

An increase from low to high coverage at Allstate only costs an extra $202 a year! This amounts to only an extra $17 a month. Other companies on the list also have similar price increases, which means you can find high coverage for a reasonable price at most companies in Virginia.

Credit History Rates by Companies

In Virginia, the average credit score is 680, which is above the national average of 675! This means Virginia residents have a better chance of receiving better rates on their auto insurance. Why?

Because insurers frequently look at your credit score to determine rates.

The Quadrant data below shows just how much credit can impact your rates.

Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates by Credit History in Virginia
GroupAnnual Rate with Good CreditAnnual Rate with Fair CreditAnnual Rate with Poor Credit
State Farm$1,579.95$2,000.23$3,226.59
Compare RatesStart Now →

At most companies, bad credit will raise your rates over a thousand dollars. The best way to avoid dealing with huge rate increases is to maintain good credit.

Driving Record Rates by Companies

Another factor that impacts rates is a person’s driving record. DUIs, accidents, and speeding violations will all raise your rates by hundreds or thousands of dollars.

Keeping a clean driving record will save you a lot of money in the long run!

CompaniesClean recordWith one speeding violationWith one accidentWith One DUI
State Farm$2,071.20$2,268.92$2,466.65$2,268.92
Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates by Driving Record in Virginia
Compare RatesStart Now →

At companies like Allstate, just one DUI will add roughly $1,500 onto a premium! So make sure to drive carefully, as a bad driving record will raise your rates SIGNIFICANTLY.

Number of Insurers in Virginia

As the twelfth most populated state in the U.S., Virginia has more than a few insurers to pick from. As in every state, Virginia has a mix of both domestic and foreign insurers to choose from.

  • Domestic Insurers: 19
  • Foreign Insurers: 908

The difference between domestic and foreign insurers is quite simple. A domestic insurer has its home office based in Virginia while a foreign insurer is based in another state but still sells in Virginia.

Virginia State Laws

While knowing your state’s laws is important, it can often be confusing. The last thing people want is a driving ticket for breaking a law they didn’t fully understand or have never even heard of!

As well, laws change from state to state. Newcomers to Virginia may expect the laws to match that of their old state, but this isn’t always the case. Insurance laws and driving laws are different from state to state, and sometimes even a small difference may result in you unknowingly violating a law.

To help you navigate tricky state laws, we’ve covered everything from auto insurance laws to rules of the road. So stay with us, because we are going to dive straight into Virginia’s must-know state laws.

Auto Insurance Laws

By now, you know about the minimum insurance requirements for Virginia, but there are other auto insurance laws that go beyond the minimum amount, such as windshield coverage or low-cost insurance.

So hang with us, because we are going to cover all of this now.

How State Laws for Insurance are Determined

Virginia has a state filing process that is different than most U.S. states. The NAIC’s description of the process is below.

“The Bureau of Insurance is authorized to establish standard forms that insurers must use. Approval of coverage broadenings for individual insurers is also permitted.”

So what does this mean? Basically, the state insurance department doesn’t need to approve policies before drivers can use them, but insurers must fill out standard forms with the Bureau of Insurance.

Insurers can also broaden their coverages beyond the minimum amounts if the Bureau of Insurance approves it.

Windshield Coverage

Nobody wants to pay to have a tiny windshield crack repaired, but if your windshield crack meets one of the descriptions below, it is illegal according to Virginia law and needs to be repaired.

  • A scratch greater than six inches by 1/4 inch in the area cleared by windshield wipers
  • A crack above the bottom three inches of the windshield that is larger than 1 by 1/2 inches in diameter
  • Multiple cracks in the same area if any crack is longer than 1 to 1/2 inches long
  • Multiple cracks in the same area if above bottom three inches of the windshield

Though the state doesn’t require windshield coverage as per the Virginia Windshield Replacement Insurance laws, most comprehensive insurance plans will cover the costs of repair or replacement. Insurers are allowed to use aftermarket parts as long as they equal in quality to the original and insurers include a statement on the estimate.

High-Risk Insurance

If a driver is in a serious traffic accident or serious traffic violation, Virginia will label that driver as high-risk and require him or her to fill out an SR-22 form. Below is the DMV’s information on the main reasons Virginia drivers may need to fill out an SR-22 form.

  • A car accident that results in a conviction of voluntary or involuntary manslaughter
  • Falsifying a driver’s license, car registration, or insurance information
  • A felony traffic conviction
  • A hit-and-run accident
  • Driving without insurance WITHOUT having paid the uninsured motor vehicle fee

The DMV explicitly states that high-risk drivers who fill out an SR-22 form are NOT allowed to purchase the uninsured motor vehicle fee. High-risk drivers are required to purchase Virginia’s minimum liability insurance and may face increased rates for a bad driving record.

If drivers are convicted of a DUI or driving with a license that’s been suspended because of a conviction, they must fill out an FR-44 form. Unlike an SR-22 form, drivers will have to purchase liability insurance that is HIGHER than the required minimum amounts. The DMV states these amounts as the following.

  • $50,000 for bodily injury per person in an accident
  • $100,000 for total bodily injury per accident
  • $40,000 for property damages in an accident

Your average annual rates will increase with both the SR-22 and FR-44 forms, assuming you had insurance in the first place. Either way, both forms will result in significantly high rates.

Low-Cost Insurance

While Virginia doesn’t have a low-cost insurance program, there are still plenty of ways to save WITHOUT skipping out on insurance. Ask your provider about some of the common discounts listed below.

  • Good driver discount
  • Good student discount (usually requires a B+ average)
  • Anti-theft discount
  • Safety features discount
  • Multi-car discount
  • Homeowners’ discount

Every insurer will also have additional discounts beyond these, so ask your insurer for a full list to make sure you are getting the most out of the discounts available.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Automobile Insurance Fraud in Virginia

The Insurance Information Institute reported on a study that found $30 billion is stolen in fraudulent claims every year! Automobile fraud makes up about $4.8-6.8 billion of this number, with people attempting to commit automobile fraud through the following methods.

  • Adding “extra” onto a legitimate claim by exaggerating or inventing expenses
  • Creating a false claim for something that never happened, such as staging an accident

The Virginia State Police Insurance Fraud Program created a 2018 report on insurance fraud in Virginia. A total of 82 arrests were made, and below you will see the number of notifications the police department received for automobile fraud.

Type of Fraud Fraudulent Automobile Notifications
Property Fraud 931
Injury/Casualty Fraud 188
Compare RatesStart Now →

Insurance fraud is a serious crime, resulting in fines and/or jail time. So make sure to be honest on your claims!

Statute of Limitations

A statute of limitations is the amount of time people have to file claims after an accident, and it starts counting down the day of the accident. A statute of limitations makes sure people file claims promptly so claim proceedings don’t drag on for years or decades past the accident.

Below, you will see Virginia’s statute of limitations.

  • Personal Injury — Two years
  • Property Damage — Five years

The sooner you file the claim the closer you are to receiving your insurance benefits, so don’t wait!

Virginia Unique State Laws

Virginia has an unfair claim settlement law, which means insurers are legally required to disclose all information on policies. This ensures that insurers don’t “forget” benefits when you file a claim.

This law also prevents insurers from ignoring your claim or refusing to pay reasonable claims.

While insurers are ethically required to follow these practices anyways, the law places extra emphasis on these guidelines. Another unique law is Virginia’s prohibition of radar detectors.

Police officers can fine you for having a radar detector in the car, even if it is turned off or broken. To avoid a fine, the radar detector has to be completely inaccessible to drivers (such as stored in the trunk of a car).

Vehicle Licensing Laws

Virginia has state-specific laws on vehicle licensing. If you are unsure what these are, we will cover everything from penalties for driving without insurance to license renewal procedures for different age groups.

So let’s jump right into it!

Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

Unless drivers have paid the UMV fee for driving uninsured, Virginia will penalize drivers for driving without the minimum liability coverage. If you haven’t paid the UMV fee and don’t have the minimum liability insurance, you will receive an intent to suspend car registration letter.

The DMV will also suspend your driver’s license and license plates. If drivers wish to reinstate their driving privileges, they will have to complete all of the following.

  • Pay fines
  • Mandatory filing of SR-22 form
  • Driver’s license reinstatement fee

As a reminder, here are acceptable forms of financial responsibility. Proof of financial responsibility must be provided anytime you are pulled over in a traffic stop, register a vehicle, or are in an accident.

  • Valid Insurance ID Card
  • Proof that you paid the UMV fee

Virginia also has an electronic verification system that authorities use to check the status of vehicles.

Teen Driver Laws

Teens must be 15 and a half to apply for a learner’s license in Virginia. This is younger than most states, which means Virginian teens can get a jump start on the learning process.

Before teens can apply for a regular license or a restricted license, the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) specifies that teens must meet the requirements below.

License or Restricted License RequirementsDetails
Mandatory Holding Period 9 months
Minimum Supervised Driving Time 45 hours (15 of which must be at night)
Minimum Age 16 years and 3 months
Compare RatesStart Now →

If teens receive a restricted license, they must continue to follow the special regulations and rules set by Virginia.

Virginia Restricted License Requirements Details
Nighttime Restrictions Midnight to 4 a.m.
Passenger Restrictions (family members excepted unless noted otherwise)First 12 months no more than 1 passenger younger than 21
After 12 months no more than 3 passengers younger than 21
When Restrictions can be LiftedDetails
Nighttime RestrictionsUntil age 18 (minimum age: 18)
Passenger Restrictions Until age 18 (minimum age: 18)
Compare RatesStart Now →

Virginia allows more underage passengers to be in the car with teen drivers than other states. While Virginia allows this, bear in mind that the risk of a crash goes up with every underage passenger added to a teen driver’s car.

Older Driver License Renewal Procedures

In Virginia, older drivers have different license renewal procedures than the general population. Drivers 75 years old and older must follow the requirements listed below.

  • License Renewal Cycle — Every five years
  • Proof of Adequate Vision — Required at every renewal
  • Mail or Online Renewal — Not permitted

Older drivers must visit in person every five years and provide proof of adequate vision at every license renewal, which means a trip to the eye doctor is necessary.

New Residents

Residents new to Virginia need to make sure their insurance is updated to meet Virginia’s minimum liability insurance. To do so, new residents will need to contact their current insurance provider to provide updated address information.

Insurers will make sure new residents have the proper coverage in the amounts below, as well as providing new residents with updated insurance ID cards.

  • 25,000 to cover bodily injury costs per person in an accident for which you are at fault
  • 50,000 to cover total bodily injury costs per accident for which you are at fault
  • 20,000 to cover property damages in an accident for which you are at fault
  • Uninsured/underinsured coverage

New residents may choose to opt out coverage, but need to pay the $500 UMV fee. This option is a lot riskier, as motorists will still be held liable for any accident costs and will have to cover all the bills themselves.

License Renewal Procedures

For the general population, license renewal procedures are fairly basic. Generally, the DMV will notify drivers well before their licenses expire, so that drivers have time to plan a trip to the DMV and prepare the necessary paperwork.

  • License Renewal Cycle — Every eight years
  • Proof of Adequate Vision — Required when renewing in person
  • Mail or Online Renewal — Both permitted, every other renewal

Virginia’s licensing system means that drivers can go 16 years without an in-person trip to the DMV! This is quite a bit longer than most states. Just make sure to have proof of adequate vision ready when renewing in-person.

Virginia Reckless Driving Law

Any driving that endangers the driver, others, or property is deemed reckless driving. Virginia has a strict set of qualifications under which law enforcement may arrest drivers for reckless driving, such as speeding or racing other vehicles.

Even if reckless driving doesn’t necessarily endanger the drivers or others, committing certain traffic violations can result in a reckless driving charge.

  • Driving with faulty brakes
  • Passing on a curve or hill
  • Driving with multiple people in the front seat who interfere with the driver’s ability to drive
  • Passing two vehicles on a road with less than three lanes
  • Driving abreast to another vehicle on a single-lane road
  • Passing at a railroad or crossing on a single-lane road
  • Not stopping for a school bus
  • Not properly using turn signals
  • Speeding at least 20 mph over the speed limit or driving over 80 mph
  • Not properly stopping before entering a highway from a side street
  • Entering a high-occupancy toll lane by crossing a barrier, buffer, or another separator

If law enforcement convicts drivers of reckless driving, drivers face the following penalties. Keep in mind that a reckless driving charge will also raise drivers’ insurance rates, which means that drivers will end up paying more than the fines below.

Key InfoDetails
Name of Offense Class 1 misdemeanor
License Suspension General: Up to six months
Vehicle Racing: six months to two years
FineMaximum $1,000
Jail Time Up to six months
Points 4 to 6
Compare RatesStart Now →

Vehicle racing is a special circumstance, with judges REQUIRED to suspend driver’s license for a minimum of six months.

Not all reckless driving charges are equal. If an infraction is less serious, drivers may receive an improper driving charge. A fine for improper driving is only up to $500, and the charge is dropped down to a traffic infraction.

A driver charged with reckless driving while drunk may also try to plea bargain the charge down to a wet reckless, which carries the same penalties as a reckless charge but requires drivers to also complete an alcohol safety program.

Rules of the Road

Drivers who are experts on the rules of the road have a better chance of staying safe in case of an accident. Keep reading to learn about Virginia’s must-know rules of the road.

Fault vs No-Fault

Virginia is a fault state. This means that whoever caused the accident is liable for costs racked up by the accident, such as medical and property damage costs.

The downside is that auto insurance is optional in Virginia, which is why Virginia requires drivers to have uninsured and underinsured coverage! If you are in an accident with an uninsured driver and they are at fault, the likelihood is that he or she will be unable to pay your bills.

This is why it is so important to have decent insurance in Virginia, as insurance will help you pay expensive bills if you’re at fault or cover you if the at-fault driver can’t pay.

Seat Belt and Car Seat Laws

One of the first things new drivers are taught is to buckle up before starting the car. Unfortunately, not enough drivers follow this rule. The following car seat laws in Virginia are in place to encourage more drivers to buckle up themselves and their loved ones.

Key InfoDetails
Initial Effective Date January 1, 1988
Primary Enforcement No
Who is Covered? In What Seats? 18+ years in front seat
Maximum Base Fine $25 (may be additional fees)
Compare RatesStart Now →

Virginia doesn’t have primary enforcement, which means that officers can’t pull drivers over and ticket them just for not wearing a seat belt. If an officer pulls over a driver for a traffic violation and notices the driver isn’t wearing a seat belt, though, the officer can ticket the driver.

Child safety seat laws in Virginia are also enforced. Below is the IIHS’s list of requirements for children in car seats.

Type of Car Seat Age and Weight
Rear-Facing Child Restraint Younger than 2 years or until the child reaches the minimum weight limit for a forward facing child safety seat as prescribed by the manufacturer
Child Safety Seat 7 years and younger
Preference for Rear-Facing Seat Children in rear-facing devices must be in a rear seat if available; if not available, they may be placed in front only if front passenger airbag is deactivated
Maximum Base Fine $50 (additional fees may apply)
Compare RatesStart Now →

As for riding in the cargo area of pickup trucks, Virginia has placed restrictions on passengers. You may ride in the cargo area ONLY if you meet one of the two requirements below.

  • Age 16 years old or older
  • Farmers when crossing highways to reach fields

If you do ride in a pickup truck, make sure to buckle up if possible, as people can easily be thrown from the vehicle at sharp turns.

Keep Right and Move Over Laws

in Virginia, drivers who are blocking traffic by traveling slower than the average speed of the traffic around them must move over and KEEP RIGHT. Generally, the right lane is for faster traffic and passing.

Unless you are passing or turning left, stick to the right lane if driving slower.

Virginia’s move over law is also simple but is vital in saving lives. Every year, people on the side of the road are injured or killed by drivers who fail to move over.

If you see a stationary emergency vehicle, tow truck, road maintenance, or utility vehicle with FLASHING LIGHTS parked in the same direction you are driving, you must move over to a lane further away. If you can’t move over, make sure to SLOW down and drive carefully past the stationary vehicle.

Speed Limits

States all have different speed limits. Make sure to familiarize yourself with Virginia’s maximum speed limits to avoid a speeding ticket.

Road TypeSpeed Limit
Rural Interstates70 mph
Urban Interstates 70 mph
Other Limited Access Roads 65 mph
Other Roads 55 mph
Compare RatesStart Now →

Remember that these are the maximum speed limits. Follow speed limit signs as speed limits will still vary from road to road in Virginia.


If drivers want to work for a ridesharing company like Uber, they will need to purchase ridesharing insurance. The following insurers offer ridesharing insurance in Virginia.

  • Allstate
  • Erie
  • Geico
  • Liberty Mutual

Drivers NEED to purchase ridesharing insurance, especially in a state with numerous uninsured drivers. As well, drivers generally need to meet basic requirements for approval.

  • 21 years old or older
  • Driving experience
  • Clean driving record
  • Inspected and registered car

Ridesharing companies will differ slightly in the requirements necessary, but the above requirements are a good general guideline. If you are approved, you will then need to purchase the necessary ridesharing insurance.

Automation on the Road

At this point, Virginia doesn’t have any laws regulating automated vehicles and is still in the testing phase. There are actually several levels of automation, from automated features like lane departure warning to fully self-driving cars.

The video below explains these levels in-depth.

Safety Laws

The reason behind safety laws is in the name — to keep drivers as safe as possible on the roads. Virginia has several safety laws in place to discourage drivers from risky driving behaviors, such as drunk or distracted driving.

DUI Laws

In 2017 alone, 246 people died from alcohol-impaired driving accidents. So what has Virginia done to discourage these numbers from rising? Besides having a strict law in place, Virginia has multiple penalties that increase with each infraction.

The details of Virginia’s state DUI law are below.

Key InfoDetails   
BAC Limit 0.08Look Back/Washout Period
High BAC Limit 0.15; 0.2
Criminal Status by Offense 1st-2nd class 1 misdemeanors
3rd+ in 10 years class 6 felony
Formal Name for Offense Driving Under the Influence (DUI)10 years
Look Back/Washout Period 10 years
Compare RatesStart Now →

As we stated, the penalties grow more severe with each infraction.

Offense License Suspension Fine Jail Time IID Lock Other
1st 1 year (restricted permit possible)$250 mandatory minimumUp to 1 year
Mandatory 5 days if BAC 0.15-0.19
Mandatory 20 days if BAC .20+
Required if BAC 0.15+VA Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) required
2nd 3 years (restricted permit possible)$500 mandatory minimumUp to 1 year
Within 5 years 1st offense, mandatory 20 day minimum
Within 10 years 1st offense, mandatory 10 additional days
If BAC .20+ mandatory 20 additional days
Required VASAP required
3rdIndefinite (but can petition court after 5 years) $1,000 mandatory minimum1-5 years
Within 5 years of 1st offense, 6 month mandatory minimum
Within 10 years of 1st offense, 90 day mandatory minimum
RequiredVASAP required. Possible vehicle seizure
Compare RatesStart Now →

Drivers convicted of a DUI must also fill out an FR-44 form. This requires drivers to purchase liability insurance that is higher than Virginia’s required minimum amounts.

Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws

Virginia doesn’t have a marijuana-impaired driving law, but this doesn’t mean driving while high is legal! Authorities will charge marijuana-impaired drivers with impaired-driving, which carries many of the same penalties as a DUI.

Impaired-driving charges can result in a suspended license, fines, and/or jail time.

After all, impaired drivers not only risk their own safety but the safety of everyone around them!

Distracted Driving Laws

Distracted driving can be just as life-threatening as impaired-driving. All it takes is a moment of inattention for an accident to happen. That’s why Virginia has regulated the use of cellphones in cars so that drivers pay more attention to the road.

Key InfoDetails
Hand-Held Ban Drivers in highway work zones
Young Drivers all Cellphone Ban Drivers younger than 18
Texting Ban All drivers
Enforcement Primary; secondary for drivers younger than 18
Compare RatesStart Now →

Though Virginia allows hand-held use except in highway work zones, it is good practice to avoid cellphone use in the car altogether.

Virginia Can’t-Miss Facts

Do you know what risk factors to watch out for in Virginia? Knowing your state’s risk factors can help you stay alert for potential dangers, as the last thing anyone wants is to be in an accident!

For example, Virginia’s woods are home to a variety of wildlife including deer. The result is that Virginia is ranked 12th in the U.S for deer collisions!

Keep reading to learn everything you need to know about Virginia’s risk factors, from vehicle theft to road dangers.

Vehicle Theft in Virginia

If you see your vehicle on the list below, it is one of the top ten stolen vehicles in Virginia!

Vehicle Make and Model Vehicle Year Total Thefts
Honda Accord2002266
Ford Pickup (Full Size)2004205
Honda Civic2013200
Toyota Camry2014181
Nissan Altima2015162
Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)2003144
Toyota Corolla2013140
Ford Explorer2002119
Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee2001107
Chevrolet Impala2006105
Compare RatesStart Now →

The FBI also compiled a 2013 report on vehicle thefts by cities, as crime rates can vary drastically depending on where people live.

Top 10 Cities for Vehicle Thefts in Virginia
CityMotor Vehicle Theft
Virginia Beach445
Newport News344
Compare RatesStart Now →

Out of the top 10 cities, Richmond City is the worst city for vehicle theft, with almost a thousand vehicles stolen in 2013!

Road Dangers in State

To help guide drivers through what road dangers to watch out for, we’ve compiled information on Virginia’s road dangers. Let’s jump right into everything from crash stats to fatality factors.

Fatal Crashes by Weather Condition and Light Condition

Since states have different weather conditions to watch out for, we want to take a look at Virginia’s fatalities during different types of weather conditions.

Weather ConditionDaylightDark, but LightedDarkDawn or DuskOther / UnknownTotal
Compare RatesStart Now →

Be aware that RAIN is a major contributor to fatal crashes. From hydroplaning to impaired vision, rain can make driving difficult for even the most experienced drivers.

Fatalities (All Crashes) by County

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) has collected extensive data on crashes in Virginia. One of the first statistics we want to look at is how fatalities vary from county to county.

County 20132014201520162017
Accomack County810683
Albemarle County111615912
Alexandria City30444
Alleghany County45342
Amelia County41357
Amherst County48654
Appomattox County24132
Arlington County28515
Augusta County17991918
Bath County11011
Bedford City00000
Bedford County9761417
Bland County11112
Botetourt County45844
Bristol City21000
Brunswick County119675
Buchanan County73636
Buckingham County111287
Buena Vista City00000
Campbell County497118
Caroline County14110127
Carroll County114768
Charles City County03340
Charlotte County32760
Charlottesville City10020
Chesapeake City119181918
Chesterfield County2619282534
Clarke County01733
Clifton Forge City00000
Colonial Heights City00151
Covington City11000
Craig County40200
Culpeper County99655
Cumberland County41114
Danville City62344
Dickenson County22311
Dinwiddie County831099
Emporia City11000
Essex County15333
Fairfax City20040
Fairfax County4033313434
Falls Church City00000
Fauquier County6919159
Floyd County43311
Fluvanna County63706
Franklin City00020
Franklin County8771612
Frederick County119131022
Fredericksburg City20212
Galax City00100
Giles County59415
Gloucester County34557
Goochland County53925
Grayson County13330
Greene County23103
Greensville County27252
Halifax County389129
Hampton City910888
Hanover County131715813
Harrisonburg City10141
Henrico County2418182124
Henry County1013161313
Highland County01010
Hopewell City12100
Isle Of Wight County79244
James City County858415
King And Queen County12324
King George County811569
King William County33133
Lancaster County41243
Lee County42753
Lexington City20000
Loudoun County1312111221
Louisa County1236107
Lunenburg County33135
Lynchburg City13212
Madison County11313
Manassas City00002
Manassas Park City00000
Martinsville City10000
Mathews County61122
Mecklenburg County1196810
Middlesex County12212
Montgomery County946513
Nelson County42704
New Kent County48853
Newport News City1011151716
Norfolk City2521151819
Northampton County13393
Northumberland County22121
Norton City10000
Nottoway County34553
Orange County86668
Page County12343
Patrick County64416
Petersburg City23062
Pittsylvania County816191414
Poquoson City00200
Portsmouth City355813
Powhatan County75414
Prince Edward County64757
Prince George County1061336
Prince William County1823113022
Pulaski County49229
Radford City01102
Rappahannock County00003
Richmond City129131621
Richmond County01141
Roanoke City674912
Roanoke County941058
Rockbridge County29798
Rockingham County1218101212
Russell County41968
Salem City10102
Scott County33324
Shenandoah County74764
Smyth County54433
South Boston City (No Longer A County Equivalent)00000
Southampton County94524
Spotsylvania County1111111412
Stafford County851599
Staunton City10110
Suffolk City141215718
Surry County11231
Sussex County043813
Tazewell County64535
Virginia Beach City2729161925
Warren County58476
Washington County68968
Waynesboro City21111
Westmoreland County03502
Williamsburg City00000
Winchester City00110
Wise County85461
Wythe County4414610
York County45595
Compare RatesStart Now →

Fairfax County consistently has some of the highest fatalities from 2013 to 2017.

Traffic Fatalities

Often, road types show trends in the number of overall fatalities. Generally, rural roads have more fatal crashes because of the higher speed limits. Rural roads also carry more unique dangers, such as crashing into wildlife.

Road Type 2008200920102011201220132014201520162017
Total 825758740764776740703754760839
Compare RatesStart Now →

Virginia has fairly high numbers, with a total of 700 to 900 deaths each year.

Fatalities by Person Type

The type of car driven can sometimes show trends in fatalities, and car occupants aren’t the only ones at risk in a crash! Pedestrians, cyclists, and motorcyclists die every year from vehicle accidents.

Person Type 20132014201520162017
Passenger Car331299323308320
Light Truck - Pickup878610382111
Light Truck - Utility996810388111
Light Truck - Van3223243032
Light Truck - Other00160
Large Truck2422192518
Other/Unknown Occupants110885
Total Motorcyclists79907979117
Bicyclist and Other Cyclist812151012
Other/Unknown Nonoccupants34222
Compare RatesStart Now →

Whether a driver or pedestrian, always be careful on roadways and keep a close eye out for activity around you.

Fatalities by Crash Type

Crashes can vary in fatality rates based on the crash type.

Crash Type20132014201520162017
- (1) Single Vehicle461436474476493
- (2) Involving a Large Truck8990719198
- (3) Involving Speeding13299105257219
- (4) Involving a Rollover188146194163186
- (5) Involving a Roadway Departure498443492444511
- (6) Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)138164170177189
Total Fatalities (All Crashes)740703754760839
Compare RatesStart Now →

in Virginia, roadway departure accidents have the highest fatality rates, followed by single-vehicle accidents. A roadway departure accident is simply when a driver leaves the road by crossing the center or edge line.

Five-year Trend for the Top 10 Counties

Another statistic we want to look at is the counties with the highest fatality rates in Virginia.

County 20132014201520162017
Chesterfield County2619282534
Fairfax County4033313434
Virginia Beach City2729161925
Henrico County2418182124
Frederick County119131022
Prince William County1823113022
Loudoun County1312111221
Richmond City129131621
Norfolk City2521151819
Augusta County17991918
All Other Counties522493559541599
All Counties Total 740703754759839
Compare RatesStart Now →

In 2017, Chesterfield County and Fairfax County tied for the highest fatality number.

Fatalities Involving Speeding by County

One of the riskiest behaviors numerous drivers participate in is speeding.

Accomack County10132
Albemarle County20122
Alexandria City00112
Alleghany County01210
Amelia County11035
Amherst County11121
Appomattox County00010
Arlington County01200
Augusta County33355
Bath County00000
Bedford City00000
Bedford County20086
Bland County10000
Botetourt County00020
Bristol City10000
Brunswick County12022
Buchanan County31412
Buckingham County13061
Buena Vista City00000
Campbell County03154
Caroline County10072
Carroll County21003
Charles City County00120
Charlotte County10020
Charlottesville City00010
Chesapeake City20256
Chesterfield County238148
Clarke County00011
Clifton Forge City00000
Colonial Heights City00010
Covington City00000
Craig County00000
Culpeper County10010
Cumberland County01003
Danville City10001
Dickenson County21101
Dinwiddie County20123
Emporia City10000
Essex County01010
Fairfax City00010
Fairfax County9781214
Falls Church City00000
Fauquier County11262
Floyd County00000
Fluvanna County00200
Franklin City00000
Franklin County00043
Frederick County20214
Fredericksburg City00010
Galax City00000
Giles County11100
Gloucester County00211
Goochland County00500
Grayson County00010
Greene County11000
Greensville County00021
Halifax County01032
Hampton City23312
Hanover County20154
Harrisonburg City00001
Henrico County31160
Henry County02246
Highland County00000
Hopewell City00000
Isle Of Wight County22001
James City County10013
King And Queen County01002
King George County02035
King William County00021
Lancaster County00012
Lee County12120
Lexington City00000
Loudoun County322510
Louisa County31073
Lunenburg County11021
Lynchburg City00001
Madison County00001
Manassas City00000
Manassas Park City00000
Martinsville City10000
Mathews County00000
Mecklenburg County20123
Middlesex County01000
Montgomery County11205
Nelson County00201
New Kent County40130
Newport News City13576
Norfolk City75320
Northampton County00101
Northumberland County00010
Norton City00000
Nottoway County00032
Orange County11020
Page County00032
Patrick County00100
Petersburg City10020
Pittsylvania County21144
Poquoson City00000
Portsmouth City02041
Powhatan County10001
Prince Edward County00024
Prince George County00001
Prince William County462149
Pulaski County10001
Radford City00000
Rappahannock County00001
Richmond City20152
Richmond County00011
Roanoke City20423
Roanoke County31022
Rockbridge County02031
Rockingham County55254
Russell County10211
Salem City00001
Scott County01000
Shenandoah County10022
Smyth County00000
South Boston City (No Longer A County Equivalent)00000
Southampton County21000
Spotsylvania County40345
Stafford County11223
Staunton City00000
Suffolk City62121
Surry County00011
Sussex County01157
Tazewell County10321
Virginia Beach City76286
Warren County00012
Washington County51140
Waynesboro City10000
Westmoreland County00200
Williamsburg City00000
Winchester City00000
Wise County02031
Wythe County02122
York County13021
Compare RatesStart Now →

Out of all the counties, Fairfax County has the most speeding deaths.

Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver (BAC=.08+) by County

Drunk driving is a major contributor to fatalities each year. Too many people decide one more drink won’t hurt and put themselves and others at SIGNIFICANT risk!

County 20132014201520162017
Accomack County43131
Albemarle County55436
Alexandria City10211
Alleghany County11222
Amelia County10123
Amherst County00121
Appomattox County10020
Arlington County12201
Augusta County53574
Bath County00000
Bedford City00000
Bedford County32476
Bland County10100
Botetourt County41201
Bristol City10000
Brunswick County14100
Buchanan County41121
Buckingham County16262
Buena Vista City00000
Campbell County12164
Caroline County40232
Carroll County22112
Charles City County02120
Charlotte County10130
Charlottesville City00010
Chesapeake City42656
Chesterfield County1188117
Clarke County00100
Clifton Forge City00000
Colonial Heights City00130
Covington City00000
Craig County30200
Culpeper County41121
Cumberland County10002
Danville City10100
Dickenson County20001
Dinwiddie County41231
Emporia City10000
Essex County02022
Fairfax City00010
Fairfax County16104911
Falls Church City00000
Fauquier County23441
Floyd County30101
Fluvanna County42100
Franklin City00000
Franklin County14213
Frederick County41317
Fredericksburg City00011
Galax City00000
Giles County02002
Gloucester County11313
Goochland County32402
Grayson County01030
Greene County10001
Greensville County02011
Halifax County22332
Hampton City45322
Hanover County35533
Harrisonburg City00000
Henrico County108474
Henry County52433
Highland County01000
Hopewell City10100
Isle Of Wight County33122
James City County32219
King And Queen County10002
King George County13141
King William County10011
Lancaster County21021
Lee County30220
Lexington City00000
Loudoun County444211
Louisa County71164
Lunenburg County21103
Lynchburg City00101
Madison County00110
Manassas City00000
Manassas Park City00000
Martinsville City00000
Mathews County10000
Mecklenburg County30044
Middlesex County11100
Montgomery County32204
Nelson County01301
New Kent County22210
Newport News City43655
Norfolk City910536
Northampton County00100
Northumberland County11010
Norton City00000
Nottoway County11110
Orange County51223
Page County01111
Patrick County30201
Petersburg City12030
Pittsylvania County54766
Poquoson City00100
Portsmouth City11135
Powhatan County41101
Prince Edward County22231
Prince George County31311
Prince William County35195
Pulaski County13003
Radford City00000
Rappahannock County00001
Richmond City55563
Richmond County00010
Roanoke City14444
Roanoke County21232
Rockbridge County13212
Rockingham County66134
Russell County10314
Salem City00000
Scott County01120
Shenandoah County10100
Smyth County01201
South Boston City (No Longer A County Equivalent)00000
Southampton County14201
Spotsylvania County26358
Stafford County41314
Staunton City00000
Suffolk City44303
Surry County00110
Sussex County02016
Tazewell County11210
Virginia Beach City1113748
Warren County33221
Washington County21110
Waynesboro City10000
Westmoreland County00201
Williamsburg City00000
Winchester City00000
Wise County22010
Wythe County01512
York County24121
Compare RatesStart Now →

Fairfax County once again ranks as first for fatalities involving an alcohol-impaired driver.

Teen Drinking and Driving

Adults aren’t the only ones included in fatality statistics. Many teens participate in underage drinking and driving every year. In the U.S., 1.2 teens per 100,000 population die from alcohol-impaired driving.

Virginia’s rate is just slightly below this. In Virginia, 1.1 teens die from alcohol-impaired driving per 100,000 population.

With teen fatalities occurring every year from drinking and driving, Virginia makes multiple arrests every year to try and keep teen drinking and driving under control.

Key InfoDetails
DUI Arrests (under 18-years-old)97
DUI Arrests (under 18-years-old) Total Per Million People 51.87
Rank 38
Compare RatesStart Now →

Virginia ranks as 38th in the U.S. for its number of arrests, which means Virginia could work a little harder at its underage arrest records. Taking drunk drivers off the streets protects both them and others.

EMS Response Time

Usually, the first thing we do in an accident is to make a call for help. If you or someone else is injured, you want help to arrive as fast as possible. This is where emergency medical services come in.

Below, you will see Virginia’s EMS response times for both rural and urban areas.

Location of IncidentTime of Crash to EMS NotificationEMS Notification to EMS ArrivalEMS Arrival at Scene to Hospital ArrivalTime of Crash to Hospital ArrivalTotal Fatalities in Crashes
Rural8.44 min12.70 min43.09 min60.04 min447
Urban5.69 min7.93 min29.76 min39.96 min273
Compare RatesStart Now →

Virginia’s EMS response times are little longer than most, as rural crashes take about an hour from the time of the crash to hospital arrival.


How do you get around every day? Most likely, you own and drive a car like most Virginians.

Most of Virginians own two cars, followed by three cars.

Commute Time

The average commute time in the U.S. is 25.3 minutes. Unfortunately, Virginia’s average commute time is slightly above this at 27 minutes.

Commuter Transportation

In every U.S. state, driving alone is the most common commute option, though people are beginning to turn to other commute options.

About 10 percent of people carpool in Virginia, while others turn to public transport or working at home.

Traffic Congestion in Virginia

While Virginia residents spend a few minutes more commuting than other states, the good news is that only one of Virginia’s cities made it onto Inrix’s global traffic scorecard.

Traffic Congestion in Norfolk City, Virginia
Key InfoDetails
Hours Lost in Congestion 56
Year-over-Year Change 6%
Cost of Congestion Per Driver $781
Inner City Travel Time (Minutes)4
Inner City Last Mile Speed (mph)15
Compare RatesStart Now →

If you are planning on traveling through Norfolk city, you may want to allow a little extra time for traffic congestion.

Whew! You’ve reached the end of our comprehensive guide! Hopefully, you feel more than prepared to drive through Virginia’s beautiful and historic state. Enter your ZIP code in our FREE online tool below to start comparison shopping today.

  1. https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/commercial/#insurance/generalinfo.asp
  2. https://www.worldatlas.com/articles/us-states-by-population.html
  3. https://crackedwindshieldlaws.com/virginia/
  4. https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/commercial/#insurance/certifications.asp
  5. https://www.iii.org/article/background-on-insurance-fraud#_ftn1
  6. https://www.stampoutfraud.com/default.aspx
  7. https://virginialawfirm.net/police-radar-detectors-in-virginia.html
  8. https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/drivers/#reinstate.asp
  9. https://ucr.fbi.gov/crime-in-the-u.s/2013/crime-in-the-u.s.-2013/tables/table-8/table-8-state-cuts/table_8_offenses_known_to_law_enforcement_virginia_by_city_2013.xls
  10. https://www.nhtsa.gov/

Cheap Auto Insurance / States

Subscribe Our Newsletter

This website uses cookies and other data for providing, improving our services. Get more. Got it