8:00 - 17:00
Opening Hour: Mon - Fri
|Most Popular Vehicle||Silverado 1500|
|Total Traffic Related Fatalities (2008 to 2017)||Speeding: 598
|Average Premiums||Liability: $338.87
Every state has a nickname that it has earned because of a defining characteristic. Maine is known as the “Pine Tree State” because of its beautifully wooded areas. But Maine is not just a state of trees — it also has sandy beaches, rocky coastlines, and lots of delicious lobster shacks! Although Maine is one of the smaller states, its beautiful areas have attracted a population of over one million people!
This high population also means that there are just over one million vehicles registered in Maine. The owners of these vehicles must have auto insurance, but anyone who has purchased auto insurance knows researching insurance providers and rates is hard work!
We want people in Maine to stop wasting hours on research, so we have put together this comprehensive guide for Maine dwellers. This guide will provide everything you need to know in order to purchase the best insurance, follow state laws, and much more!
Start comparison shopping today using our FREE online tool. Enter your ZIP code above to get started!
Table of Contents
Picking out the best coverages and rates can be EXTREMELY overwhelming. It can be hard to understand your options and know which options are best for your needs. After all, you are paying out of pocket for auto insurance, so you want to be able to understand WHAT you are getting.
That’s why we’ve broken down the different requirements and coverage options so that you can pick a plan that suits your budget and your needs. We’ll give you all the information you need.
Stick with us, because we are going to look at the minimum coverage for auto insurance in Maine, premiums, and other important factors.
Maine law requires all drivers to have a minimum coverage amount on their car. This requirement ensures that drivers can pay off costs in an accident. Maine is different from other states because it requires drivers to have uninsured/underinsured (UM and UIM) insurance and Medpay insurance in addition to the usual coverages.
Below, we have given a breakdown of the minimum insurance amounts.
Bear in mind that Maine law requires UM, UIM, and Medpay insurance in addition to the rates listed above. However, Maine is one of the best states for minimum auto insurance.
Remember that these coverages are the minimum amount, and it is usually worth it to purchase higher coverages in case of an accident. If your insurance doesn’t completely cover the costs in an accident, you could be stuck with paying pricy bills.
Naturally, a state that requires auto insurance needs proof that drivers are actually following the law. This is where forms of financial responsibility come in. A form of financial responsibility proves that you have valid insurance on your car.
Some acceptable forms of financial responsibility are the following:
You must provide proof of financial responsibility in the following situations:
Not having auto insurance may result in fines and other penalties. So make sure to purchase the minimum insurance amount required by the state of Maine before driving your car.
Let’s jump right into some geographical facts about incomes and premiums. The first thing you need to know is the term per capita disposable income, which is the amount of money a person has to spend or save after taxes are paid.
In Maine, the per capita disposable income is $37,049. This means Maine residents have $3,087 to spend each month.
On average, auto insurance costs $689 each year in Maine. So what do all these numbers mean? Basically, auto insurance in Maine only deducts $57 a month from the average income of $3,087. That’s not a bad price to pay for valuable protection!
To put this amount in perspective, the countrywide, annual average for auto insurance is $981. This means people in Maine pay $292 less than the countrywide average. That money can be put to good use each month!
|Coverage Type||Annual Costs (2015)|
The National Association of Insurance Commissioners, a leading source on insurance coverage, is the source for the above data. Bear in mind that auto insurance rates in Maine will likely be higher for 2019.
Remember, Maine also requires Uninsured/Underinsured and Medpay insurance, so the overall cost will be higher than the one listed above. However, you will be happy to know that Maine tops our list of the best states for full coverage auto insurance, so Maine’s coverage rates should always be reasonable for Maine drivers.
Let’s jump into a closer look at the required Uninsured/Underinsured and Medpay coverages. Below, we have listed the loss ratios for these coverages, which we will explain in a moment.
|Medical Payments (MedPay)||77%||74%||76%|
|Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage||55%||55%||43%|
Alright, so what do these numbers mean? The Medpay loss ratio looks great, but the Uninsured and Underinsured loss ratios are not as great. Here’s an explanation of why these numbers are good and bad.
So while Medpay coverage is paying out a decent amount of claims, Uninsured and Underinsured coverages are paying out too few claims. The top companies usually have loss ratios over 90 percent, and Medpay coverage in Maine is steadily reaching that number.
Now that we’ve tackled loss ratios, let’s look into WHY the state of Maine requires you to have these coverages.
The video above explains why these coverages are important in an accident, and we have further explained the coverages below.
These coverages will help save you from expensive bills, which is why Maine requires all drivers to purchase them.
In Maine, 4.50% of drivers are uninsured, placing Maine in the rank of 51st for uninsured drivers.
Now that we’ve covered the liability and additional liability insurance Maine requires, let’s look at some optional coverages.
You may wonder why you should add on extra coverages when you are already purchasing the required amount. These extra coverages are optional, but they provide effective coverage at an affordable price. The best part? You can pick and choose add-ons to custom-tailor a protection plan for YOUR specific needs.
Check out the following options to see if any fit your needs:
Any of the above coverages would be great to add to a policy, so make sure to discuss any options you are interested in with your insurance provider.
You may be surprised to learn that gender DOES influence auto insurance rates. In most states, even if females have the same driving record and background as males, females usually pay more for auto insurance. Maine is one of the FIVE states that is the exception to this demographic. In Maine, males pay 6.6 percent more than females for auto insurance.
In fact, gender discrimination in auto insurance rates is such a problem that California and other states banned gender discrimination and created gender neutral insurance plans.
Unfortunately, Maine has not yet followed suit, but the fact that states are taking notice and working to change gender discrimination in auto insurance is encouraging. Below, we’ve broken down some gender and age rate differences at different companies.
|Company||Married 35-year-old female Annual Rates||Married 35-year-old male Annual Rates||Married 60-year-old female Annual Rates||Married 60-year-old male Annual Rates||Single 25-year-old female Annual Rates||Single 25-year-old male Annual Rates||Single 17-year-old female Annual Rates||Single 17-year-old male Annual Rates|
|Bristol West Select||$1,705.76||$1,722.32||$1,596.13||$1,716.53||$2,002.79||$2,075.88||$5,376.87||$5,969.29|
|Liberty Mutual Fire Ins Co||$2,984.27||$2,984.27||$2,841.84||$2,841.84||$2,984.27||$4,201.37||$6,336.04||$9,480.14|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$1,313.61||$1,313.61||$1,238.91||$1,238.91||$1,465.85||$1,605.41||$4,189.75||$5,224.15|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||$1,165.23||$1,207.33||$1,055.86||$1,080.39||$1,157.44||$1,336.27||$4,689.11||$6,340.02|
It’s true, marriage can impact your auto insurance rates in addition to gender and age. Curious about which demographic pays the most at different companies? We’ve ranked the most expensive demographics below.
|Rank||Companies||Demographic||Average Annual Rate|
|1||Liberty Mutual Fire Ins Co||Single 17-year old male||$9,480.14|
|2||Progressive Northwestern||Single 17-year old male||$8,930.09|
|3||Progressive Northwestern||Single 17-year old female||$7,945.51|
|4||Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Single 17-year old male||$6,340.02|
|5||Liberty Mutual Fire Ins Co||Single 17-year old female||$6,336.04|
|6||Allstate F&C||Single 17-year old male||$6,027.66|
|7||Bristol West Select||Single 17-year old male||$5,969.29|
|8||Bristol West Select||Single 17-year old female||$5,376.87|
|9||State Farm Mutual Auto||Single 17-year old male||$5,224.15|
|10||Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||Single 17-year old female||$4,689.11|
|11||Allstate F&C||Single 17-year old female||$4,503.88|
|12||Liberty Mutual Fire Ins Co||Single 25-year old male||$4,201.37|
|13||State Farm Mutual Auto||Single 17-year old female||$4,189.75|
|14||Geico General||Single 17-year old male||$3,213.99|
|15||USAA||Single 17-year old male||$3,134.30|
|16||Liberty Mutual Fire Ins Co||Married 35-year old female||$2,984.27|
|16||Liberty Mutual Fire Ins Co||Married 35-year old male||$2,984.27|
|16||Liberty Mutual Fire Ins Co||Single 25-year old female||$2,984.27|
|19||Liberty Mutual Fire Ins Co||Married 60-year old female||$2,841.84|
|19||Liberty Mutual Fire Ins Co||Married 60-year old male||$2,841.84|
|21||USAA||Single 17-year old female||$2,838.93|
|22||Progressive Northwestern||Single 25-year old male||$2,512.75|
|23||Geico General||Single 17-year old female||$2,470.70|
|24||Progressive Northwestern||Single 25-year old female||$2,221.50|
In addition to gender and age, where you live can affect your auto insurance rates.
We’ve collected data on the most and least expensive ZIP codes, so search to see where your ZIP code lands on the list. You will also see providers’ costs next to your ZIP code, providing a helpful snapshot into what you should be paying.
First up are the 25 ZIP codes with the most affordable rates.
|City||Zip code||Average Annual Rates||Allstate F&C Annual Rates||Bristol West Select Annual Rates||Geico General Annual Rates||Liberty Mutual Fire Ins Co Annual Rates||Progressive Northwestern Annual Rates||State Farm Mutual Auto Annual Rates||Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co Annual Rates||USAA Annual Rates|
Compare those rates with the premiums you can expect to pay in the most expensive ZIP codes.
|City||Zip code||Average Annual Rates||Allstate F&C Annual Rates||Bristol West Select Annual Rates||Geico General Annual Rates||Liberty Mutual Fire Ins Co Annual Rates||Progressive Northwestern Annual Rates||State Farm Mutual Auto Annual Rates||Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co Annual Rates||USAA Annual Rates|
|GRAND LAKE STREAM||04637||$2,781.85||$2,588.13||$3,020.57||$1,499.95||$4,495.96||$4,148.39||$2,243.29||$2,702.92||$1,555.59|
|ISLE OF SPRINGS||04549||$2,766.13||$2,595.20||$2,769.40||$1,651.09||$4,265.96||$4,958.71||$2,294.98||$2,170.23||$1,423.45|
|EAST BLUE HILL||04629||$2,759.66||$2,836.36||$3,178.04||$1,537.88||$4,467.58||$4,285.24||$2,081.35||$2,195.63||$1,495.22|
We have also collected data on auto insurance rates by city. Below is a list of the most expensive and least expensive cities for auto insurance. Simply enter your city in the search box to see your city’s cost.
|EAST BLUE HILL||$2,759.66|
|FORT KENT MILLS||$2,562.65|
|GRAND LAKE STREAM||$2,781.85|
|ISLE AU HAUT||$2,557.05|
|ISLE OF SPRINGS||$2,766.13|
|LITTLE DEER ISLE||$2,742.92|
|OLD ORCHARD BEACH||$2,499.89|
|WEST BOOTHBAY HARBOR||$2,674.73|
Fort Fairfield is the least expensive place to live, whereas Surry is the most expensive. You may have noticed, though, that there is only a $382 difference between the highest and lowest rates. This change in price is actually excellent, as most states have a MUCH MORE noticeable cost difference!
Picking a auto insurance company is an important part of making sure you have the best rates and coverages. After all, you want to feel confident that your hard-earned money is going to the best place possible.
As everyone knows, though, finding the RIGHT insurance company is HARD work.
We want you to feel confident in your choice, so we have put together a section on the biggest and best companies in Maine.
Read through to see which companies have the best financial ratings, the best customer service, and the most complaints.
What does an A.M. Best rating mean? Essentially, an A.M. Best rating measures the financial health of an insurance company.
From the below table, you can see that every company has a loss ratio above 50 percent. A large part of a company’s success is its loss ratio, which we covered earlier in this guide.
|Company||AM Best Rating||Direct Premiums Written||Loss Ratio||Market Share|
|Allstate Insurance Group||A+||$53,971||55.75%||7.35%|
|Liberty Mutual Group||A||$65,408||56.93%||8.91%|
|State Farm Group||A||$104,784||59.92%||14.27%|
|The Hanover Insurance Group||B+||$24,098||53.19%||3.28%|
Customer satisfaction is a HUGE factor in the success of a company. If customers aren’t happy with the service they receive, they will begin to look for a different provider. Whether you are searching for a new provider or just want to check your current provider’s ranking, make sure to look at the information JD Power released below.
|Provider||Ranking||J.D. Power Circle Rating™|
|Plymouth Rock Assurance||804||2|
As you can tell from the above graphic, quite a few of the largest companies in Maine (State Farm, Allstate, etc.) have excellent customer satisfaction ratings.
The Department of Professional and Financial Regulation collected data on complaint ratios for Maine’s auto insurance providers. According to the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation, the complaint index means the following:
Keep in mind that a high complaint index doesn’t necessarily mean you should avoid a company. Make sure to also look at a company’s customer satisfaction ratings because how a company deals with complaints is also important.
|Personal Auto Insurance Group||2017 Complaint Index||2017 Number of Complaints|
|ALLSTATE INSURANCE GROUP||1.6||15|
|AMICA MUTUAL GROUP||0.7||1|
|AMTRUST NGH GROUP||0.7||2|
|AUTO CLUB ENTERPRISES INSURANCE GROUP||1.9||7|
|AUTO OWNERS GROUP||1.0||5|
|FRANKENMUTH INSURANCE GROUP||0.0||0|
|HANOVER INSURANCE GROUP||0.5||2|
|HARTFORD FIRE & CASUALTY GROUP||1.2||2|
|HORACE MANN GROUP||1.5||3|
|LIBERTY MUTUAL GROUP||1.8||20|
|MAIN STREET AMERICA GROUP||0.6||1|
|MMG INSURANCE COMPANY|
|QUINCY MUTUAL GROUP||0.3||1|
|SENTRY INSURANCE GROUP||1.2||2|
|STATE FARM GROUP||0.8||14|
|UNITED SERVICES AUTOMOBILE ASSOCIATION GROUP||0.0||0|
In order to save money on auto insurance, make sure you are shopping around for rates. Below is information about rates across different companies.
|Company||Average||Compared to State Average (+/-)||Compared to State Average (%)|
|Bristol West Select||$2,770.70||$161.01||5.81%|
|Liberty Mutual Fire Ins Co||$4,331.75||$1,722.07||39.75%|
|State Farm Mutual Auto||$2,198.78||-$410.91||-18.69%|
|Travelers Home & Marine Ins Co||$2,253.96||-$355.73||-15.78%|
As you can see, looking at different companies can save a lot of money. For example, USAA is almost 80 percent BELOW the state average, meaning it’s a thousand dollars less than most companies!
At some companies, how far you drive each day influences your insurance rates.
|Companies||10-mile commute. |
6,000 annual mileage.
12,000 annual mileage.
Data shows that some companies charge over $100 more if your commute is longer. If you have a shorter commute, it might be worth looking into the companies that base prices on a commute. If you commute long distances, though, make sure your provider isn’t charging you more! If they are, it might be time to change providers.
Of course, when compared with some other factors, your commute distance has little effect on your rates.
The more you pay, the better coverage you will receive. Don’t let higher rates discourage you from purchasing better coverage, as some companies have economical increases in rates. For example, the data below shows USAA has only a $75 increase from low to high coverage!
So make sure to shop around, as higher coverage doesn’t necessarily mean you have to break the bank.
The quality of your credit score impacts your insurance rates. After all, companies want to make sure you will pay them. In Maine, the average credit score is 689, which above the countrywide average of 675.
This means Maine residents have a better chance of getting great rates because of their above average credit scores.
The above data shows that poor credit can add thousands to your insurance bill! It is clear that improving your credit will also improve your insurance bills at providers.
A clean driving record is the EASIEST way to keep rates down. As you can see from the information below, at Liberty Mutual, just one DUI can raise your rate by over three thousand dollars!
|Companies||Clean record||With one speeding violation||With one accident||With one DUI|
Clearly, a better record equals better rates.
In Maine, there are only nine domestic insurance providers but 696 foreign insurance providers. What is the difference? Honestly, there isn’t much of one. Domestic insurance means a company is formed under Maine’s state laws, whereas a foreign provider is formed under the laws of any state in the U.S.
You might think of the difference as an insurance company chain that is in multiple states (foreign) versus a local, small-town provider that is located only in Maine (domestic).
State laws are confusing. Laws vary from state to state, and new residents may sometimes receive tickets for laws they didn’t know existed! You need to know your local state’s laws before hitting the road, as the last thing you want to do is break the law.
We want you to be safe on Maine’s roads, so we’ve collected Maine’s important driving laws. Make sure to read through and familiarize yourself with the laws before driving.
Bear with us, because we are going to look at insurance laws, vehicle licensing laws, rules of the road, and safety laws.
Forms and rates have to be filed with Maine’s state insurance department AND approved before they can be used. This is to make sure that Maine’s residents are meeting the minimum insurance requirements.
In Maine, form filing has a deemer provision. A deemer provision means that a form is approved if it is not denied within a set number of days.
So make sure that your insurance is valid and approved BEFORE driving in Maine. Now that you know how the filing process works, let’s look at the different types of insurance and how they can affect your rates.
Sometimes, Maine will require drivers to fill out an SR-22 form to purchase high-risk insurance. We have listed the main reason below for why you may need to purchase high-risk insurance.
Drivers who commit serious traffic-related incident will need to fill out an SR-22 form. These traffic incidents include the following: driving under the influence, driving with a suspended license, and driving without insurance.
You will need to contact your insurance company to have your company include an SR-22 form on your policy. Your company may require you to pay higher rates because of the SR-22.
If you DO NOT file an SR-22 form you won’t have your driving privileges reinstated. You will have your license suspended and pay additional fines, in addition to the suspension of your vehicle’s registration.
Basically, if you are a high-risk driver and need to fill out an SR-22 form, don’t ignore it. Not doing so will result in the loss of the right to drive altogether.
Let’s move to the other end of the spectrum — low-cost insurance. While Maine doesn’t have a low-cost insurance program, there are PLENTY of ways to cut back on insurance costs.
The DMV recommends asking Maine insurers about the following discounts:
You can also reduce rates by shopping around for an economical provider in your area. Just make sure that economical rates DOESN’T equal poor coverage!
Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
In Maine, the law does NOT require insurers to replace cracked or broken windshields. However, comprehensive coverage will usually cover the cost of a windshield repair or replacement (yet another reason why more complete coverage is the best option).
Below, we’ve listed some of the particular requirements of windshield replacement in Maine.
Repairing your windshield is important, as driving with a cracked or broken windshield is illegal under the following circumstances:
Having one of the above violations can result in fines and your vehicle not passing inspection, so make sure to have that windshield repaired!
Read more here: Maine Windshield Replacement Insurance
It’s probably not surprising to learn that automobile insurance fraud is classified as a crime in Maine. Insurance fraud is a significant problem in the U.S., as it is estimated that over $30 billion is stolen in fraudulent claims EACH YEAR. That’s a lot of money!
So what actions classify a claim as insurance fraud?
There are two main ways to commit fraud:
Committing insurance fraud can result in fines and/or jail time. Don’t risk these penalties because of insurance fraud! Be honest on your claim reports, and you won’t need to worry about law enforcement knocking on your door.
Let’s move onto another aspect of claims — Maine’s statute of limitations. Essentially, a statute of limitations is the amount of time you have to file a claim after an accident. This ticking clock starts the day of your accident, so make sure that you are familiar with Maine’s statute of limitations.
After all, the last thing you want is to miss out on the deadline AND the money you are owed!
|Claim Type||Time Limit|
|Personal Injury||6 years|
|Property Damage||6 years|
Luckily for Maine residents, Maine has an extremely GENEROUS amount of time to file for claims.
Maine does not have a specific law about fair claims, which makes sure insurers are completely honest about policy benefits and don’t ignore claims. If you want to avoid insurers cheating you on policy benefits, make sure that you are familiar with EVERY aspect of your policy.
If you know everything that is due to you, insurers won’t be able to get away with “forgetting” policy benefits at the time of a claim.
Since Maine requires all drivers to have auto insurance, it makes sense that there are penalties in place for driving without auto insurance.
For a first offense, you will have to pay a fine of $100-$500. Authorties will also suspend your license and registration until you can provide proof of insurance.
You may remember some of the acceptable proofs of insurance that we listed before. Anytime you are pulled over or are in an accident, you must provide one of the following:
If you violate auto insurance laws in Maine, the state can also suspend your car’s registration. You will receive notification of the intent to suspend registration.
Bottom line? Having auto insurance will make sure you don’t become familiar with Maine’s penalties for uninsured drivers.
Teenagers in Maine can apply for a learner’s license (also known as a learner’s permit) at 15 years old. It is important to know the laws for teenage drivers, as these rules help teenagers stay safe while they learn how to drive.
After teenagers have gone through the mandatory learner’s license period and met all the requirements, they can apply for a regular or restricted license.
|Requirements Before Getting a License or Restricted License||Time Limits|
|Mandatory holding period||6 months|
|Minimum supervised driving time||70 hours (10 of which must be at night)|
If a driver has a restricted license, there are further rules in place.
|Restricted License Driving Requirements||Details||Minimum Time Restrictions May Be Lifted|
|Nighttime Restrictions||Midnight to 5 a.m.||9 months (minimum age: 16 years and 9 months)|
|Passenger Restrictions (excepting family members)||No passengers||9 months (minimum age: 16 years and 9 months)|
Up next, another age group with special requirements — older drivers.
Older residents in Maine (65 years old and older) must renew their licenses every FOUR years. This is more often than the general population, who are only required to renew their licenses every six years.
There are a few more rules for older drivers that differ from the general population.
To sum it up, older drivers must visit in-person every four years to renew their licenses and have proof of adequate vision.
If you are new to Maine, you must contact your current insurance provider for updated rates and updated insurance id cards. Remember, you need Maine’s minimum liability insurance, NOT the minimum liability rates of your last state.
Maine requires bodily injury, property damage, uninsured motorist, and medical payments coverage.
Make sure to also get an updated license and car registration, which are both basic items on most peoples’ moving to-do list.
The basic renewal procedures for the general population are as follows.
Maine’s online and mail renewal system means you can go a LONG time without paying an in-person visit to your local DMV. Just remember that you have to provide proof of adequate vision at every other renewal (every 12 years) if you are older than 40.
In Maine, you can be convicted of reckless driving, which is when you endanger yourself and others around you. The penalties for reckless driving are strict, as Maine wants to keep all drivers SAFE on the road, which is hard to accomplish if reckless and negligent drivers are out on the road.
|Offense Name||Class of Crime||Jail Time||Fines||License Suspension|
|Standard Driving to Endanger||Class E crime||Up to 6 months||Maximum $1,000||30 to 180 days|
|Aggravated Driving to Endanger||Class C crime||Up to 5 years||Maximum $5,000||180 days to two years|
In addition to the penalties above, you will also have points added to your driving record. A high number of points will result in the suspension of your license.
If you are convicted of reckless driving while under the influence, you may be able to have your charges reduced to what is called a wet reckless. A wet reckless charge will still have penalties, but the court will likely reduce the severity of the penalties.
Maine is an at-fault state, which means the at-fault driver is responsible for paying for the other driver’s medical and property damage costs.
If you are the at-fault driver and don’t have insurance, the likely result is that you won’t be able to completely pay off the costs and risk losing your savings or going bankrupt!
Insurance will make sure you are covered in an accident for which you are at fault, though an at-fault accident will likely raise your rates in the future. Still, increased rates are a small price to pay compared to potential bankruptcy!
Maine’s keep right law is simple to follow. Drivers must stay in the right lane unless they are passing another vehicle in an area where the speed is greater than 65 mph OR when they are making a left turn. Easy, right?
Let’s look at another simple law, which is the move over law. All motorists must move over to safely pass by vehicles that are on the side of the road. The LAST thing you want is to injure or kill someone because you failed to move over!
The vehicles you need to move over for include the following:
If you see any of these vehicles on the side of the road with flashing lights, move over! This law makes sure there is a safety cushion around parked vehicles so that no-one is injured or killed on the side of the road!
Every state has differing speed limits, and violating a state’s speed limits may result in tickets and fines. Below are Maine’s maximum speed limits for different road types. Remember, these are the MAXIMUM speed limits. Speed limits will vary from road to road in Maine.
|Road Type||Speed Limit|
|Rural Interstates||75 mph|
|Urban Interstates||75 mph|
|Other Limited Access roads||75 mph|
|Other Roads ||60 mph|
Just like there are speed limit laws to ensure drivers’ safety, there are also seat belt and car seat laws in Maine. If a driver is in an accident without a seat belt, there is a MUCH higher likelihood of a fatality. Make sure you are buckling up properly by checking out the laws below.
|Seat Belt Law in Maine||Details|
|Effective Since||December 26, 1995
|Primary Enforcement||Yes; effective since September 20, 2007|
|Age/Seats Applicable||18+ years old in front seat|
|1st Offense Max Fine||$50 plus fees|
Primary enforcement simply means law enforcement officers can pull you over if they see you aren’t following the seat belt laws. There are also important rules in place regarding the safety of children. If you have a child, make sure to follow child safety seat laws in Maine.
|Type of Car Seat Required||Age and Weight|
|Child Restraint||Less than 40 pounds|
|Child Restraint or Booster Seat||40 to 80 pounds and less than 8-years-old|
|Rear Seat Preference||11-years-old and younger and less than 100 pounds must be in rear seat if available|
|Adult Belt Permissible||8 through 17-years-old or less than 18-years-old and more than 4'9" tall|
Maine also has restrictions on riding in the cargo areas of pickup trucks. You may not ride in the cargo area of a pickup truck unless you meet the following exceptions:
Follow the rules above to stay safe, as riding in cargo areas can be EXTREMELY dangerous. Passengers can easily be thrown out of vehicles during sharp turns, which is why Maine doesn’t allow children to ride in the cargo area.
Maine is also beginning to consider animals’ safety in the car, as loose animals can injure both themselves AND/OR the driver.
If you are considering becoming a ridesharing driver, you will need to purchase ridesharing insurance. The following insurers offer ridesharing insurance in Maine.
In addition to ridesharing insurance, it is also important to also have the minimum coverage Maine requires. Ridesharing companies will also require that your vehicle is currently registered/inspected and is safe to drive.
After all, you aren’t just driving yourself around. So make sure you meet all the requirements for ridesharing by following a company’s guidelines carefully and purchasing ridesharing insurance.
If you have an automated vehicle in Maine, you are required to have liability insurance. Currently, there are no other laws restricting the use of automated vehicles in Maine, but Maine is still in the testing phase.
If you want further information about automated vehicles, the video below classifies the different levels of automation.
In every state, drunk driving is against the law. In Maine alone, drunk driving caused 50 deaths in 2017. However, every state is different in how they address drunk driving and therefore have different penalties. Below, we’ve listed the details about Maine’s impaired driving laws.
|Formal Name for Offense||Operating Under the Influence (OUI)|
|High BAC Limit||0.15|
|Criminal Status||- 1st and 2nd offense is class D crime
- 3rd+ offense within 10 years is class C crime
|Look Back Period||10 years|
With each offense, the penalties grow steadily worse.
|Number of Offense||License Revocation||Jail Time||Fine|
|1st||150 days minimum||None or 48 hours minimum with aggravating factors||$500|
|2nd||5 years minimum||7 days minimum||$700 minimum|
|3rd||6 years minimum||30 days minimum||$1,100 minimum|
|4th||8 years minimum||6 months minimum||$2,100 minimum|
|5th||Same as 4th offense||Same as 4th offense||Same as 4th offense|
Driving under the influence in Maine will lose you your ability to drive altogether! With a second offense, you will lose your license for five years. Not to mention that you will also face fines and jail time.
It’s really simple. Don’t drive drunk. Maine has these penalties in place for a reason — drunk driving can rob you of your life AND harm others.
While Maine doesn’t have SPECIFIC laws about marijuana-impaired driving, you can still be charged with driving impaired. If you are charged, you face charges similar to a DUI — a suspended license, fines, and jail time.
Did you know marijuana can stay in your system for weeks? Officers may sometimes charge you for driving impaired even if you are not high while driving.
The best advice we can give is to not drive under the influence of marijuana, especially in a state where marijuana isn’t legal, as you could be charged with driving impaired. Not to mention that you could injure yourself or others!
A second is all it takes for an accident to happen. If you are distracted and don’t have an eye on the road around you, an accident is bound to occur. Maine has restricted cellphone use in the car because of this, and there are also apps to prevent texting in the car.
Maine has created the following cellphone use laws to help prevent accidents.
|Young driver cell phone ban||Learner's permit and restricted license users|
|Texting ban||All drivers|
Remember, primary enforcement means an officer can pull you over just for being on your cellphone. Stay with us, because we are going to jump into can’t-miss facts next!
Every state has its own risk factors. In Maine, drivers need to especially aware in November for moose and white-tailed deer. Every year, thousands of drivers hit these large animals. Not only can these accidents cause property damage and injuries, but they can also be fatal.
Maine has special safety signs warning drivers of heavily populated wildlife areas, so pay careful attention in these areas!
Wildlife is just one example of Maine’s risk factors. In order to be fully prepared for what Maine’s roads may throw at you, continue reading to learn about vehicle theft, risky behavior, and transportation.
In every state, there are certain vehicles that are stolen more than others.
|Vehicle Make and Model||Vehicle Year||Total Stolen in 2015|
|Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)||2001||29|
|GMC Pickup (Full Size)||1993||26|
|Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee||2004||18|
|Ford Pickup (Full Size)||2004||15|
Where you live also plays a role in the number of vehicle thefts. The FBI created a 2013 report on Maine’s vehicle thefts by cities, the data which we have included below.
|City Name||Total Thefts|
Road type does affect the number of fatalities. Generally, rural roads see more fatalities than urban roads. This is partly because of the greater speeds reached on rural roads, which mean the impacts are far greater and far deadlier.
Another factor that shows trends in fatalities is the type of person. We don’t mean demographic information, but rather the type of vehicle that is being driven and if the person is an occupant in the car, a pedestrian, or a cyclist.
|Light Truck - Pickup||21||16||13||31||23|
|Light Truck - Utility||23||29||18||21||23|
|Light Truck - Van||12||9||7||8||4|
|Light Truck - Other||0||0||1||1||1|
|Bicyclist and Other Cyclist||4||2||0||4||2|
The type of crash can also play a role in fatality rates.
|Crash Type and Fatality Totals||2013||2014||2015||2016||2017|
|Involving a Large Truck||18||10||11||20||23|
|Involving a Rollover||38||22||42||22||40|
|Involving a Roadway Departure||109||102||111||114||112|
|Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)||16||13||22||24||34|
|Total Fatalities (All Crashes)||144||131||156||160||172|
Next, we have a five-year trend for Maine’s top 10 counties that have the highest fatality rates.
|Top Ten Counties' Total||117||111||136||136||144|
|All Other Counties' Total||27||20||20||24||28|
|Complete Fatality Total||144||131||156||160||172|
Did you know speeding is a major cause of driving fatalities? Speed limits were created for a reason!
We’ve talked about this next major contributor to fatalities before. Curious to see the amount of drunk driving going on in your county? Check out the table below to see fatalities in crashes that involved an alcohol-impaired driver with a BAC over .08.
Let’s move onto the last depressing statistics — teen drinking and driving. In 2016, law enforcement arrested 28 teenagers (under the age of 18) for drunk driving.
This number places Maine as the 19th worst state in the U.S. for underage drinking and driving!
Let’s look at another statistic. In the U.S. the average number of underage drinking deaths per 100,000 people is 1.2 deaths. Maine has 2.3 underage drinking and driving deaths per 100,000 people. This number is well above the national average, and it places Maine within the top ten WORST states for underage drinking and driving fatalities!
Clearly, underage drinking and driving is a MAJOR problem in Maine. If you have teenagers, make sure to lead by example and never drink and drive. After all, lives are too high a price to pay!
Now that we’ve covered the depressing statistics, let’s look at the aftermath of an accident. Namely, how long it takes for help to arrive in Maine.
|Location of Incident||Time of Crash to EMS Notification||EMS Notification to EMS Arrival||EMS Arrival at Scene to Hospital Arrival||Time of Crash to Hospital Arrival||Total Fatalities in Crashes|
|Urban||8.23 min||7.15 min||24.71 min||34.88 min||27|
|Rural||8.17 min||10.46 min||34.47 min||46.15 min||121|
Maine’s response times are excellent, as it takes under 50 minutes in both rural and urban settings to arrive at the hospital!
Transportation is vital to our modern-day society. That’s why we want to take a quick look at transportation in Maine.
In Maine, residents own an average of two cars, which is the norm across most states in the U.S. Three-car and one-car households are the next two most common groups at roughly 20 percent of the population each.
How much time do you spend commuting to work every day? In Maine, the average commute time is 22.5 minutes, which is slightly below the national average of 25.3 minutes. Slightly over two percent of Maine commuters have a 90-minute or greater drive time.
Finally, let’s take a quick look at methods of commuter transportation in Maine.
As in most states, the most common transportation method is driving alone to work, followed by carpooling and working from home.
Congratulations! You’ve made it through this comprehensive guide, which contains everything you need to know before driving on the roads of the Pine Tree state! Want to start comparing rates today? Enter your ZIP code in our FREE online tool below!
Auto Insurance Laws / Auto Insurance Tips