8:00 - 17:00

Opening Hour: Mon - Fri

+1 800-937-7209

Call Us For Free Consultation

What are state minimums for car insurance in Connecticut?

Things to remember...
  • Connecticut drivers who do not comply with Connecticut’s auto insurance minimum auto insurance limits could be fined, lose their license, or face other unpleasant consequences
  • Your insurance company may notify the state as soon as you cancel your existing auto insurance policy
  • Drivers in this state are financially responsible for any damages they cause while behind the wheel of a vehicle
  • The CT car insurance minimum requirements include coverage for liability as well as uninsured motorists

Most Connecticut drivers are aware that they are legally obligated to purchase a minimum amount of auto insurance coverage in Connecticut. However, you may not be certain what these requirements are or why they are in place. A closer look will help you to better understand this important requirement.

State law in Connecticut makes drivers financially responsible for all damages and expenses they create while operating their vehicle.

Some accidents may result in tens of thousands of dollars worth of damage or more, and it is not possible for many local residents to pay this hefty amount of money out of their own pocket.

What is the minimum coverage for auto insurance in Connecticut? To ensure that local drivers have the financial means to pay for at least a portion of the damages they may case, the state has created a liability insurance requirement for drivers which we’ll look at next.

if you’re in Connecticut and need car insurance, make sure you compare rates with our free comparison tool above.

Table of Contents

What is the minimum required auto insurance for Connecticut?

Now that you are aware of what the most common insurance types are in Connecticut, you may be wondering what the state’s minimum legal requirements are.

The NAIC releases its auto insurance database report which includes up-to-date liabilty requirements by state. For all drivers in Connecticut, the law requires you to purchase a policy that includes at least:

  • $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident for bodily injury liability coverage
  • $10,000 per accident for property damage coverage
  • $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident for uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage

These auto insurance requirements are relevant for a private-use vehicle in Connecticut, but some drivers may have specialized vehicles or special-use vehicles, such as a commercial vehicle or a classic car that is not driven on public roads.

This video from Allstate goes over liability auto insurance coverage and some of what it covers.

How much is insurance for a new driver in CT? It’s hard to give a definitive answer, as auto insurance rates depend on a variety of factors like your age, gender, driving record, credit history, home address, and more. 

But the table below can give you an idea of how much the average rates are for the top insurer in Connecticut.

Connecticut Average Annual Auto Insurance Rates for the Largest Companies
CompaniesAverage Annual Auto Insurance Rates
State Farm$2,976.24
Progressive $4,920.35
Allstate $5,831.60
Safeco $7,282.87
Compare RatesStart Now →

If you have a special situation, explore unique insurance requirements that may be relevant to your situation.

How to Read Auto Insurance Requirements

Auto insurance can be seemingly complicated to many drivers, and you understandably may feel confused about how to read auto insurance requirements in Connecticut.

If you do not know how to read car insurance requirements, you cannot be sure that you are in compliance with state requirements or understand how protective your coverage is.

These are descriptions of some of the more common types of optional and required auto insurance that are available to Connecticut drivers.

  • Bodily Injury Liability – Bodily injury liability coverage pays the other parties for their medical expenses if you caused the accident. This type of coverage is required by law in Connecticut.Property Damage Liability – Property damage liability coverage pays the other parties for their vehicle repairs and other types of property repairs if you damage them in an accident. This type of coverage is also required per Connecticut law.
  • Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage – The last type of coverage that Connecticut drivers are required to purchase is uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. This type of insurance pays you for expenses caused by a hit and run driver or an uninsured driver.
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP) / Medical Payments – Personal injury protection is required in some states, but it is not required in Connecticut. This optional coverage pays for your own medical expenses for accident-related injuries. Keep in mind that it may supplement your health insurance.
  • Collision – Some lenders require customers to buy collision insurance, but it is not a state requirement. Collision insurance pays for vehicle repairs or a full replacement if it is damaged in a collision only.
  • Comprehensive – Some lenders also require comprehensive insurance, but this coverage is also not required by law in Connecticut. While collision insurance pays for damages related to a collision, comprehensive insurance pays for damages from a full range of events, such as bad weather, a fire, theft, flooding, and more.

When you read through CT minimum insurance requirements and policy terms, you will likely see these terms above listed with a dollar amount next to them. The dollar amount usually indicates the upper limit that the auto insurance company will pay for that specific type of auto coverage.

If your actual expenses exceed the coverage limit in your policy, you will need to pay them on your own.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Driving Without Insurance in Connecticut

The III estimates that one in eight drivers is uninsured.

Connecticut drivers should be observant of the insurance requirement at all times. If you are caught driving without insurance, you will be fined $200, and the state will offer to buy insurance on your behalf.

If you fail to act on this offer or to prove that you have insurance currently, you will need to attend a hearing. At this hearing, your vehicle’s registration or your driver’s license may be revoked or suspended.

Minimum Required Auto Insurance vs. Recommended Coverage

Some Connecticut drivers think that they only need to purchase the minimum amount of coverage required by the state’s law and perhaps additional coverage required by their lender, but this is not necessarily the case.

You must pay for all damages you cause while driving, including property damage, medical bills, and more.

Therefore, you should purchase enough coverage and the right type of coverage to pay for all expenses that you financially cannot afford to pay for.

For example, you may wish to buy more than the minimum required limits of bodily injury and property damage liability insurance, and you may also want to buy comprehensive insurance with towing or rental car reimbursement for additional benefits.

You can work with an insurance agent to set up the coverage you need with an affordable premium amount.

Buying New Auto Insurance in Connecticut

Smart drivers in Connecticut will review and update their auto insurance coverage every six months, and this is because it will help you to address any changing needs for your coverage and find the best rate available.

Comparing online rates is a fast and convenient way to shop for new auto insurance, but you should carefully select the providers who you reach out to for quotes. Not all providers are the same, and you need to make a savvy buying decision when purchasing auto insurance in Connecticut.

In addition to focusing your attention on the cost of auto insurance, remember to look for a provider that has great financial standing and a good customer service reputation.

If you’re looking for cheap auto insurance in Connecticut, don’t miss out on our free comparison tool below. Just enter your ZIP code and compare rates now.


  1. https://content.naic.org/cipr_topics/topic_auto_insurance.htm
  2. https://www.iii.org/fact-statistic/facts-statistics-uninsured-motorists

Auto Insurance Laws

Subscribe Our Newsletter

This website uses cookies and other data for providing, improving our services. Get more. Got it