8:00 - 17:00

Opening Hour: Mon - Fri

+1 800-937-7209

Call Us For Free Consultation

What are state minimums for car insurance in New Hampshire?

Things to remember...

  • New Hampshire is the only state without a mandatory car insurance law
  • If you do have insurance in New Hampshire, you must carry minimum amounts of bodily injury liability, medical payments, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
  • Minimum bodily injury amounts required are $25,000 for one person, and $50,000 per incident or accident, and property damage liability of $25,000
  • If you are in an accident without insurance in the Granite State, you will have to pay all costs on your own and provide proof of insurance for three years afterward

New Hampshire is the only state that doesn’t require all drivers to buy mandatory auto insurance. Some drivers are required to purchase insurance and submit proof to the New Hampshire DMV.

If you do need to provide an SR-22 form, your driver record will state “proof of financial responsibility is required.”

People who do have to buy car insurance in New Hampshire include individuals convicted of driving under the influence (DWI).

You will also have to buy insurance if your license has been decertified for the following:

  • multiple driving violations
  • you were uninsured and found at-fault in an accident

If you do buy auto insurance in New Hampshire, the state requires you to have minimum liability, medical payments, and uninsured motorist coverage.

Compare quotes for the coverage you need. Enter your ZIP code into our free rate tool above to find the insurance that’s right for you.

Table of Contents

How to Read and Understand Car Insurance Requirements

The New Hampshire DMV advises drivers that underwriting and rating determine how insurance companies charge for each type of insurance coverage.

Learning insurance categories and terms will help you comply with New Hampshire’s auto insurance regulations and also choose the best value for your driving needs.

Car insurance policies have as many as six different parts. Prices for each part differ depending on your driving history, type of vehicle, and many other factors.

Bodily Injury Liability

If an accident occurs, bodily injury liability coverage pays for injuries suffered by people in the other car, not your own. Bodily injury liability also covers your injuries if you’re driving someone else’s car with permission.

You could be sued by the insurance company and individuals in another vehicle if you are in an accident.

The Insurance Information Institute advises you to take the value of your home and savings into consideration when you are deciding how much bodily injury liability coverage you should have.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) / Medical Payments

PIP or medical payment coverage pays for medical treatment incurred in an accident. Medical coverage can also cover lost wages, or help to pay for necessary services while you are injured, including child care and elder care.

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap auto insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Property Damage Liability

If you damage someone else’s property while driving, such as a fence, wall or light post, property damage liability will pay for repairs, minus a deductible amount. This coverage will also pay for damage to another person’s car if you’re involved in an accident.


Collision coverage pays for damage to your car in an accident, even if you are found to be at fault. The catch is, you are responsible for your deductible amount. The insurance company will pay for costs after you pay the deductible.

Deductible amounts range between $250 and $1,000. The lower your premium for collision coverage, the higher the deductible.


If your car isn’t moving but is somehow damaged, comprehensive insurance coverage will reimburse your repair costs. Comprehensive coverage will pay for damage from the following:

  • floods
  • fires
  • vandalism
  • collision with an animal

A typical comprehensive deductible amount ranges from $100 to $300.

Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Uninsured (UM) and underinsured (UIM) coverage is particularly important in New Hampshire because all drivers aren’t required to have insurance. The state’s minimum insurance amounts can cause some drivers to be underinsured.

What is the Minimum Car Insurance Required in New Hampshire?

If you don’t have car insurance in New Hampshire, you must file proof with the state that you meet the New Hampshire motor vehicle financial responsibility requirements.

If you do buy car insurance in New Hampshire, the state requires you to have a policy with minimum basic liability coverage of $25,000 for one person, $50,000 for two or more people per accident or incident, and $25,000 for property damage.

You must also buy at least $1,000 in medical payments coverage and uninsured motorist coverage. New Hampshire doesn’t specify any minimum for uninsured motorist coverage.

Proof of Insurance and Financial Responsibility

New Hampshire accepts proof of financial responsibility or insurance coverage using form SR-22, which can be provided through the mail or electronically.

When you are comparing car insurance, be certain that the company is licensed to provide coverage in New Hampshire.

The state’s Bureau of Financial Responsibility receives SR-22 forms that provide proof of financial responsibility directly from insurance companies. If there are any problems, the Bureau will notify your insurance company or you through the mail.

What if I’m not driving my car or it’s in storage?

You don’t need to purchase driving-related insurance if you’re not driving or are just storing your car in New Hampshire, but you may want to investigate insurance that would pay to replace or repair the vehicle in case of property damage.

Another option could be contacting your insurance company, notifying them you’ve stored your car, and receiving reduced premiums.

What penalties could I face if I don’t have the mandatory insurance?

New Hampshire doesn’t require you to buy car insurance, but you will have to buy insurance for at least three years if you are in an accident while you are uninsured.

If you are in an accident and the combined damages are over $1,000 or someone is injured, New Hampshire may suspend your driver’s license and auto registration.

New Hampshire requires you to have minimum amounts of insurance coverage if you do choose to buy car insurance. Basic bodily injury liability coverage of $25,000 per person will run out quickly in case of a serious accident.

If you are in an accident, you could be sued for a large sum of money.

New Hampshire’s Insurance Department tells drivers that if they are sued after an accident and only have minimum amounts of insurance, they could lose their savings, have future wages garnished, and even lose their home.

Compare car insurance quotes to find the coverage you need at the best rate. Enter your ZIP code below to get started!


  1. http://www.iii.org/issue-update/compulsory-auto-uninsured-motorists
  2. https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/financial-responsibility/insurance.htm#required
  3. https://www.nh.gov/insurance/consumers/documents/nh_auto_guide.pdf
  4. http://www.iii.org/article/what-covered-basic-auto-insurance-policy
  5. https://www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/dmv/contact-us/index.htm#numbers

Auto Insurance FAQ / Auto Insurance Laws

Subscribe Our Newsletter

This website uses cookies and other data for providing, improving our services. Get more. Got it